Business supporting environment

National Research Institutes

More than 50 research organisations operate independently of the universities. They differ in size, legal status and field of research. After the independence of Slovenia, the legal position changed significantly. Altogether, 15 institutes acquired the status of National Research Institutes, carrying out scientific and technological research of special importance for Slovenia, and also two infrastructure institutes carrying out information and communication activities.



The following organisations have the status of a national infrastructure institute:


Source: Slovenian Research Agency, 2012



Slovenia has four universities:


The University of Ljubljana is an institution with a very rich tradition. It was established in 1919 on the foundations of a long-established pedagogical tradition. With its 52,000 undergraduate and post-graduate students, it ranks among the biggest universities in the world scale. A total of 26 faculties, academies and other higher education schools employ approximately 4,350 teaching, research and technical staff, assisted by nearly 1,580 administrative staff.


University of Ljubljana / Univerza v Ljubljani

Kongresni trg 12

SI-1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

phone: +386 (0)1 241 8500

fax: +386 (0)1 241 8660


Rector: Professor Radovan Stanislav Pejovnik, Ph. D.



The University of Maribor was established only in 1975. However, Maribor has a fully 140-year-old tradition of higher education. Today the University has about 1,200 pedagogical and research employees. In addition to its 17 faculties, the University of Maribor has a modern university library, students' residence, sports, information and other facilities. The University of Maribor has developed a strong under- and postgraduate study programme, a network of studies pursued by part-time students, research work according to the national programme, financed by the state, and work for development to the benefit of the economy of the local community. The University has developed a strong international cooperation network. In school year 2010/11, over 20,000 undergraduate and post-graduate students were enrolled.


University of Maribor / Univerza v Mariboru

Slomškov trg 15

SI-2000 Maribor, Slovenia

phone: +386 (0)2 235 5280

fax: +386 (0)2 235 5211


Rector: Professor Danijel Rebolj, Ph. D.



The University of Primorska was established in 2003 and has 6 faculties and several research institutions that are located in Koper and in the vicinity. In school year 2010/11, more than 6,500 undergraduate and post-graduate students were enrolled.


University of Primorska / Univerza na Primorskem

Titov trg 4

SI-6000 Koper, Slovenia

tel.: +386 (0)5 611 75 00

fax.:+386 (0)5 611 75 30


Rector: Professor Rado Bohinc, Ph. D.



The University of Nova Gorica is an independent, non-estate university institution and has 7 faculties for undergraduate study programmes. At the University lively research activity is beeing conducted in their nine laboratories, centres and institutions. In the school year 2010/11 over 700 undergraduate and post-graduate students were enrolled.


University of Nova Gorica / Univerza v Novi Gorici

Vipavska 13,

P.P. 301 Rozna dolina

SI-5000 Nova Gorica, Slovenia

tel.: +386 (0)5 331 52 23

fax.: +386 (0)5 331 52 24


Rector: Professor Danilo Zavratnik, Ph. D.


The Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts (SAZU)

The Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts (SAZU) is active in different classes of research. SAZU has 84 full and 16 associate members, as well as 80 corresponding members from scientific organisations abroad.  The work of elected members reaches into various areas and is organised in six sections:

  • historical and social sciences
  • philological and literary sciences
  • mathematical, physical, chemical and technical sciences
  • natural sciences
  • the arts, and
  • medical sciences


SAZU was the founder of important research institutions, such as the Jozef Stefan Institute, the National Institute of Chemistry, the Turbo Institute and the Milan Vidmar Electric Power Research Institute. It is also the founder of the otherwise independent Scientific Research Centre of SAZU, which encompasses 17 important research institutes from the fields of humanities and natural sciences.


Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts / Slovenska akademija znanosti in umetnosti (SAZU)

Novi trg 3,

1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

phone: +386 (0)1 4706 100

fax: +386 (0)1 4253 423


Managing director: Zoran Mezeg