State & Political System

Official name Republic of Slovenia (Republika Slovenija)
Type of government Parliamentary democratic republic
Independence 25th of June 1991
Constitution Adopted on 23 December 1991
Head of state

President Mr Borut Pahor

Next election Autumn 2017


Head of government

Prime Minister Mr Miro Cerar

Next election Autumn 2018


National Assembly

seats LZJ/PS-28, SDS-26, SD-10, DLGV-8, DeSUS-6, SLS-6,

Nsi-4, Representatives of Italian and Hungarian minorities - 2 

Next election Autumn 2018


Administrative divisions 212 municipalities

Participation in international


BIS, CCC, CE, CEB, CEI, CEFTA, CSCE, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EU, FAO, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (non-signatory user), Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, MIGA, NAM (guest), NATO, OECD, OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNFICYP, UNIDO, UNTSO, UPU, WEU (associate partner), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WtrO 


Executive branch


The President of the Republic is the head of state and the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. He is directly elected for a maximum of two consecutive five-year terms. The President calls elections for the National Assembly, proclaims laws adopted by the National Assembly, proclaims documents of ratification for international treaties, and performs other duties defined by the Constitution.


The Prime Minister is elected by the National Assembly, at the proposal of the President of the Republic. Cabinet ministers are also elected by the National Assembly, at the proposal of the Prime Minister.


The government is composed of 15 ministers plus one minister without portfolio. The Council of Ministers as a whole and each cabinet minister are accountable to the National Assembly. The government proposes laws, general acts, regulations and state policies to the National Assembly for all socio-economic and political areas, and supervises state administration through ministers.


More about national insignia


Legislative branch

Parliament is made up of a single-chamber National Assembly, which has 90 members, elected on a party basis for a four-year term. The National Assembly is the highest legislative body in Slovenia. The Italian and Hungarian minorities each have one seat.


The National Council represents the interests of socio-economic and professional circles and those of local authorities. It has 40 members elected for a five-year term; they give opinions on draft legislation examined by the National Assembly, initiate debates on bills before they are promulgated, and forward requests to parliamentary commissions to launch inquiries.


Judicial branch

The Constitutional Court (Ustavno sodišče) is the highest authority of judicial power for the protection of constitutionality, legality, human rights and fundamental freedoms. The Court comprises nine members (including the president). All judges are elected by the National Assembly following nomination by the President of the Republic (the election system). Their term of office lasts nine years and is not renewable.


The Supreme Court (Vrhovno sodišče) is the highest appellate court in the country. It is a court of appellate jurisdiction in criminal and civil cases, in commercial lawsuits, in cases of administrative review, and in labour and social security disputes. It is the court of third instance in almost all cases within its jurisdiction. The decision to promote a judge to the post of Judge of the Supreme Court is taken by the National Assembly, at the proposal of the Judicial Council.


Four Higher Courts (Višje sodišče) serve as appeal courts. Eleven District Courts (Okrožno sodišče) and 44 Local Courts (Okrajno sodišče) serve as courts of first instance. Commercial registers are incorporated in district courts.


A list of all courts is available on the website of the Ministry of Justice and Public Administration.